Office 888-766-1035 / 270-766-1035/ Request Line 866-982-WAKY


Waky Music News

For: Monday May 20, 2019 

>>Woodstock 50 Organizers Gets New Financial Partner 

(Undated)  --  Woodstock 50 organizers are moving forward with the festival with a new financial partner.  Investment bank Oppenheimer & Co. has agreed to fund the festival.  The company said it believes Woodstock is an important American cultural icon, and it is looking forward to its regeneration.  A judge just ruled last week that the Japanese finance company Dentsu had no right to cancel Woodstock 50.  The judge also ruled, though, that the company didn't have to return the nearly 18-million dollars that Woodstock 50 co-founder Michael Lang alleged it had taken from the festival's bank account.  Woodstock 50 is set to take place August 16th to 18th in Watkins Glen, New York, with artists like Santana, The Killers, Jay-Z, Miley Cyrus and Imagine Dragons. 

>>Elton John on Taron Egerton's "Rocketman" Role 

(Undated)  --  Actor Taron Egerton plays Elton John in the film, Rocketman which hits theaters May 31st.  John told British news outlet The Sun that he doesn't care if it doesn't make any money or if people don't like it, because it is the film he wanted to make and that is what counts.  Egerton and John just performed together after the film's premiere at the Cannes Film Festival. 

>>Mick Jagger Rocks Out On Social Media 

(Undated)  --  Mick Jagger still isn't slowing down after his recent heart surgery.  The Rolling Stones frontman shared a video of himself playing guitar on Twitter over the weekend, and wrote that he was "rocking out new tunes."  Jagger just shared a photo of him rehearsing some dance routines on social media last week.  The 75-year-old had a stent placed in his heart last month.  The Rolling Stones postponed the North American leg of their 2019 No Filter tour so he could he recover from the procedure.  The rescheduled leg kicks off in July. 

>>SNL Cast Performs Queen 

(Undated)  --  Alec Baldwin brought out his President Trump impersonation and his vocal abilities on the season finale of Saturday Night Live over the weekend.  He and some of the cast performed Queen's hit, Don't Stop Me Now, during the cold open of the season finale.  
The ensemble performance included Robert de Niro as Robert Mueller, and regular cast members as Vice President Mike Pence, press secretary Sarah Huckabee Sanders, Justice Clarence Thomas, Commerce Secretary Wilbur Ross and rapper Kanye West.